July 30, 2009

Deep Dark Chocolate Cheesecake

Posted in Desserts, Freezable tagged , , , at 1:10 pm by RootsAndRings

This is a recipe from Kroger. No joke. They didn’t steer me wrong with the Chocolate Chip Cookie Truffles so I had no reason to doubt them. This is the first cheesecake I’ve ever attempted. It is magically delicious. It is insanely rich so start with a small piece. Not kidding. I’m a chocoholic and can usually handle richness… but this is RICH. Mine came out really dense and thick. But that’s the way I like my cheesecake so it’s perfect.

Crust:
9 oz. chocolate wafer cookie (I assumed the meant Oreos so I bought an 18 oz package of Kroger brand Kiddo’s and used half)
1 T. sugar
1/4 c. butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350. Butter a 9 inch springform pan with 3 inch high sides. Chop cookies in food processor until finely ground, blend in sugar. Add melted butter and process until smooth. I had to stop and stir a few times to get it going. Press crumbs evenly onto bottom (not sides) of pan. Bake about 5 minutes. Mine burned a little, but now in hindsight, I think I baked mine for 9 minutes… Hmm… Take pan out of oven and let cool while preparing filling. Maintain oven temp.

Filling:
10 oz. dark chocolate (bittersweet), chopped (I used Ghirardelli chocolate chips)
4 8 oz. pkgs. of cream cheese, room temp. (I used 2 regular cream cheeses and 2 low fat, you know, because I’m watching my figure)
1 1/4 c. plus 2 T. sugar
1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder
4 large eggs

Stir chopped chocolate in double boiler until melted and smooth. (I microwaved. Shut up Martha, that’s how I roll.) Let chocolate cool slightly – lukewarm but still pourable. Blend cream cheese, sugar, and cocoa powder in food processor until smooth. I did this little by little so my processor wouldn’t freak out and explode. I don’t know it it helped, I like to think it did. Blend in eggs, one at a time. At this point if it looks like your processor is going to overflow, we’re in the same boat. Don’t worry, it didn’t. Now add the chocolate to the mixture and blend until all mixed. Pour filling over crust and smooth the top. Bake until center is set and just appears dry, about an hour. Cool for 5 minutes and then run a knife around the edges to loosen. Chill overnight.

Topping:
3/4 c. whipping cream
6 oz. dark chocolate (bittersweet), chopped
1 T. sugar

Stir all ingredients in medium saucepan over low heat until smooth. Cool slightly. Pour over center of cheesecake and spread to within 1/2 inch of the edge. Chill until topping is set, about an hour.

Release pan sides. Transfer to platter. Let stand 2 hours at room temp before serving (if you can wait… we couldn’t). Enjoy.

Cheesecake 2

3 Comments »

  1. DebbieQ said,

    I have been waiting for this one! It looks excellent.

    P.S. I am hoping that I fixed the problem with commenting on my site. Give it a try again at some point and let me know if it works.

  2. osarah said,

    Yum!

    I wish I had a springform pan that worked well. I bought one last fall and used it once and threw it out. It did THAT bad of a job. My oven also failed. I refuse to think it was my fault…

  3. jill said,

    that looks DELISH! I have a mini cupcake pan and I once made mini cheesecakes in that for a get-together I was having. This seems like it’d be the perfect little treat!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

