April 6, 2009

Soup-Hater’s Favorite Stew

Posted in Beef, Crockpot, Soups/Stews tagged at 11:36 am by RootsAndRings

Stephen hates soup so I try to stay away from anything broth-related. However, I figured I could trick him by using a lot of meat and potatoes in a stew. It was successful. This is the best stew we’ve ever tasted! We’ve had it twice in two months. The best part? Just throw it all in the crock pot!

 

2 lbs. stew meat
1 can condensed tomato soup
1 can cream of mushroom
1 pkg onion soup mix
1 c. red wine (we use Cowtown Red from D’Vine Wine; I’m certain that the wine makes all the difference so choose one you love)
veggies of choice (I used quartered red potatoes, baby carrots, onions, celery, and then at the end I throw in a can of drained green beans)

Put meat and veggies in your crock pot. I put the potatoes on the bottom. Mix soups and wine together (it’ll look nasty, don’t worry!) Sprinkle onion soup mix over meat and veggies. Pour soup mixture on top. Cook on low 8 hours. I leave it while I’m at work which ends up being about 9-10 hours and it’s perfect. Add some beef broth if you want to thin it out. Your mouth will water when you walk in the door and smell it! I promise!

3 Comments »

  1. Matt said,

    mmmm. i’m not a soup guy either, but this sounds amazing…

  2. Jimbo said,

    This may be weird but I’m scared of the Crock-Pot. My mom used it pretty frequently growing up and I always enjoyed what she had made but I have yet to use ours. Maybe this soup will change all that…

  3. Lexi said,

    I will definitely try this, thanks for tweeting it to me! Also great that it’s a crockpot recipe, I’ve been aiming to use mine more! I made a great pot roast in is two weeks ago, but need more good ideas 🙂


Leave a Reply

