April 10, 2009

I’m An Adult, Therefore I Roast

Posted in Beef, Crockpot tagged at 2:28 pm by RootsAndRings

Only adults cook roast. Since I’m trying to convince myself that I’m an adult now, this seemed like a great step. I’m not very educated on the different types of roast. I just bought something on sale at Kroger that had the word “roast” in it. And then I found this recipe.

 

approx 3 lb. roast – bigger or smaller is fine, my Crock Pot could hardly handle this one
1 pkg ranch dressing seasoning mix
1/2 – 1 pkg Italian dressing seasoning mix
1 pkg brown gravy seasoning mix
1 c. water
veggies of choice

 I layered the bottom of my Crock Pot with halved red potatoes. Then put my roast on top. My roast was too long so I cut it in half, put the first half down, covered it in larges slices of onions, then put the other half on top. Then poured onions and carrots in. Sprinkled the mixed seasonings on top. Pour in water, add more if you want more drippings. I also added red wine… because, well, I like wine. You could also use the mixes as a dry rub if you’d like. Cook on low all day – I did mine about 9-10 hours. Save your drippings for gravy. The carrots are to die for!!

1 Comment »

  1. […] we’re having a roast, which Chelsea posted in her recipe blog. It has been cooking for nearly 6 hours already and it smells […]


Leave a Reply

