April 12, 2009

That Amazing Oreo Thing

Posted in Desserts tagged , , , , at 6:00 pm by RootsAndRings

This recipe is actually called Oreo Refrigerator Cake. But I think it’s misleading, as it’s not actually cake. Regardless, it’s fabulous. I’ve made this a few times. I made it for Easter and the dish was literally licked clean. I’ve found that it works best if you don’t make it all in one day. You certainly can if you don’t have time. But I think it sets better if you do it a layer at a time.

 

1 bag/pkg of Oreos (I, of course, use Kroger brand)
1/2 c. butter, melted
1 (8oz) pkg of cream cheese, softened
1 c. confectioners’ sugar
1 large tub of thawed Cool Whip
1 large pkg of instant chocolate pudding mix
2 1/4 c. half-and-half cream (I use milk)

Put the Oreos in a big ziplock and crush them up. Put 1/4 cup in aside to use as topping. Mix the rest of the crushed Oreos with the melted butter. Once mixed, press into a 9×13 dish and stick in the fridge. I usually leave this in the fridge overnight so it sets well. For the next layer, beat the cream cheese with the confectioners’ sugar until smooth. Fold in half of the Cool Whip. Spread over the cookie crust. Return to fridge. Make sure your cream cheese has a chance to set (about 30min – 1 hour) before you do the next step. Combine milk and pudding until smooth. Pour over cream cheese layer. Once set (approx. 1 hour) top with remaining Cool Whip and leftover crushed Oreo. Cover with Saran Wrap and store in fridge. Enjoy!

1 Comment »

  1. Maureen said,

    I have to say I have eaten all 3 of these recipes…the truffles…delectable….the carrot cake, one of the best birthday cakes I’ve ever had!, and oh my gosh! the oreo thing, amazing doesn’t even describe it…there are no words!


Leave a Reply

