April 12, 2009

The Best Carrot Cake I’ve Ever Had

Posted in Desserts tagged at 6:27 pm by RootsAndRings

Okay… it’s also the only carrot cake I’ve ever had! But don’t let that take away from it’s greatness! I was in charge of dessert for Easter this year. I was asked to bring two desserts: one chocolate, one not chocolate. I’ve always held the opinion that it’s not worth the calories if it’s not chocolate. But momma wanted choices, so choices I gave her. I thought a carrot cake would be cute, seeing as it’s Easter and happens to be the Big Bunny’s favorite. Coincidentally, it was also my mother-in-law’s b-day and she loves carrot cake. So I searched for a great recipe. This one got fantastic reviews. And although I still prefer chocolate, I’ll definitely be making this again!

 

Cake
2 c. all-purpose flour
2 t. baking soda
1 t. baking powder
1 t. salt
2 t. ground cinnamon
1 3/4 c. white sugar
1 c. vegetable oil
3 eggs
1 t. vanilla
2 c. shredded carrots
1 c. flaked coconut
1 c. chopped walnuts
1 (8 oz.) can crushed pineapple, drained

Frosting
1 (8oz) pkg cream cheese, softened
1/4 c. butter, softened
2 c. confectioners’ sugar

Preheat oven to 350. Grease and flour a 9×13. Mix flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon. Make a well in the center of your dry ingredients and then add sugar, oil, eggs, and vanilla. Mix with a wooden spoon until thoroughly mixed. Batter will be thick. Stir in carrots, coconut, walnuts, and pineapple. Pour into pan and bake for about 45 minutes. When cool, ice the cake. Cream butter and cream cheese until smooth. Add confectioners’ sugar and beat until creamy. I added some vanilla as well.

(I used two 9″ round pans and baked for 40 minutes, worked wonderfully. But I doubled the icing recipe to make sure I had enough. Had tons left over but not sure that I would have had enough if I didn’t.)

3 Comments »

  1. Heather said,

    wait, so is it a spice cake with carrots in it?? haha

    It was delicious!!

  2. Jimbo said,

    Yummm! I’m stealing this recipe word-for-word and adding it to our recipe blog so I can make one of these later (organizing is so much easier with digital tags)!

  3. […] which recipe I use. I should have linked to it at that time but I was being too lazy. My apologies. Here is the link. Make it this weekend, you won’t be […]


Leave a comment