April 22, 2009

Chocolate Chip Cookie Truffles

Posted in Desserts tagged , , at 3:10 pm by RootsAndRings

I’ve attempted truffles before and failed miserably. I swore I’d never do it again. But I got this recipe in the mail from Tollhouse. It looked super easy so I gave it a shot. Besides the fact that the needs to stay refrigerated, these are perfect. My Meme once said that broken cookies don’t have any calories because they fall out. So I guess we’re in the clear!

 

1 pkg cookie dough; I used Toolhouse. (They gave me the recipe, the least I could do was use their brand!)
3 oz. cream cheese, softened (I used 3.5-4 oz)
1 c. chocolate chips (Calls for semi-sweet. It’s great that way but next time I’ll try dark chocolate)
1 T. vegetable oil

Bake your cookies according to the package. Make sure they are thoroughly cooked, but not burned. Crispy cookies work best. Once cooled, crumble your cookies into a food processor. Grind them up- not into a powder though! Add cream cheese and blend/chop/process?/whatever until thoroughly mixed through. It will look like chocolate dough. Line a cookie sheet with wax paper. Roll into 1″ balls and cool on cookie sheet in fridge. About 45 min-an hour. Before they are ready, heat chocolate chips and oil in a microwave save bowl. Let it cool on the counter. Then, dip each ball into your chocolate and put it back on the cookie sheet. Make sure you don’t have too much dripping chocolate. Refrigerate until hardened. Enjoy!

2 Comments »

  1. osarah said,

    This looks amazing!

  2. Maureen said,

    Thank you for bringing these last night! I had another one today! These would make wonderful Christmas gifts!


Leave a Reply

