January 3, 2010

Brown Rice

Posted in Other at 11:52 pm by RootsAndRings

This rice is fantastic and goes perfectly with Apricot Chicken. Although I have yet to make it successfully because there is something deep inside me that prevents me from making a successful pot of rice or a pancake. I don’t know why, it makes no sense to me. But my mom makes this rice and it’s fan-freakin-tastic.

3 T. butter
1 c. rice
1 can french onion soup
1 can consomme
1 c. water

Brown rice in melted butter. (Don’t burn!) Stir. Stir. Add onion soup and water. Mix. Cover and simmer 15-18 minutes. Put into a dish and pour 1/2-3/4 can of consomme over rice. Bake uncovered 25 minutes in a 350 degree oven.

Leave a Reply

